|
|
![]() |
The prime online databases for Fleet Air Arm archives is the Public Records Office for official Royal Navy records, the Commonwealth War Graves Debt of Honour for Fleet Air Arm Casualties, the Canada Virtual War Memorial, Australian War Memorial, the British Library and such as Amazon for online books and publications.
PORT ONLINE CATALOGUE Port
is an online catalogue of high quality maritime related Internet resources.
Every resource has been selected and described by a librarian or subject
specialist. Services and materials developed by the Museum's Centre for
Maritime Research are also available on this site.
Public Record Office, Kew, London
PUBLIC RECORDS OFFICE the National Archives of the UK. The Online Catalogue
"PRO" - The catalogue of the UK Public Record Office at Kew in West
London is now on line.This catalogue was last updated 02 Feb 2001 and contains
8,487,730 records.
Royal Commission on Historical Manuscripts
Archon: Archives On-Line
-- United Kingdom (Royal Commission on Historical Manuscripts)
Directory of archives in the UK, with links to web sites.
Naval
and Maritime Libraries and Archives Group
Established in May 1999 under the auspices of the Royal Naval Museum
Library with the purpose of creating an information network of naval and
maritime libraries and archives throughout the UK.
Scottish Archive Network
Amazon.co.uk - books for sale online
British Library - includes 100 items on Fleet Air
Arm alone
Daily Telegraph archives search
ALTAVISTA
BBC Archives
and Footage
The BBC's archives are among the world's largest which means that you
may find everything you're looking for on this site. Within our site, you'll
find easy access to the vast archives of the world's most respected television
broadcaster. Our Broadcast Archives, News Archives, and StockVisions collections
contain more than two million subject listings -- captured on over 500
million feet of film, 400,000 hours of video, and more than 500,000 sound
recordings.
Access to BBC sound recordings is via the National Sound Archive.The
NSA is part of the British Library and will arrange appointments for anyone
in possession of a British Library pass.
National
Film and Television Archive - Bfi Collections (which includes
the National Film and Television Archive) is the largest collection of
films and television titles in Europe.
Newsreel
Project (BUFVC) database: database of British Newsreel production
between 1910 and 1979. It contains 160,000 records from 21 newsreels and
cinemagazines, and is designed to make information on the newsreels available
for academic research.
Public
Motion Picture Research Centers and Film Archives
http://lcweb.loc.gov/film/arch.html
Vintage
Film Home page
Includes numereous films with Fleet Air Arm connection
WPA
FILM LIBRARY
This
database
gives
you access to over 400,000 records
The Australian War Memorial is a unique commemorative institution. It is a national memorial, an internationally renowned museum, and a research centre for Australian military history.
National Archives of Australia
Australian Museums Online (AMOL)- A
link to the Australian Museums On Line Collection Search which includes
AWM photos
Register of
Australian Archives and Manuscripts (RAAM) - contains records
describing non-government archives held in Australian archival repositories
and libraries.
Picture Australia- A link to an
image searching service provided by Australian cultural agencies, and includes
information on Fleet Air Arm campaigns, ships, air stations, and aircraft.
PictureAustralia is a web service based on a metadata index held at the
National Library in Canberra which links to pictorial images held on the
web sites of participating cultural agencies around Australia.
Multimedia Catalogue - State Library of
Victoria - The Multimedia Catalogue contains over 160,000
digitised images.
The
National
Archives of Canada the Archives' collections today include millions
of records, including texts, photographs, films, maps, videos, books, paintings,
prints and government files, that bring the past to life. ArchiviaNet is
an automated research tool that allows you to access a vast amount of information
from various databases and automated systems created by the National Archives
of Canada.
National
Archives of New Zealand
Head Office, Wellington
National Register of Archives and Manuscripts
National Library of South Africa
The National Library's collections contain a wealth of information sources, from rare manuscripts and foreign official publications to the extensive body of South African documents supplied in terms of legal deposit legislation.
Naval
Aviation History Branch DEPARTMENT OF THE NAVY
World
War II Honor Roll database
Contains the 172,218 names of those buried at our cemeteries, those
Missing in Action and those buried or lost at sea. It does not contain
the names of the 233,181 Americans returned to the United States for burial.
US Navy Photo gallery - image archives
AEROFILES
- This is our Big Hangar, the starting place for anywhere in the
world. It now holds nearly 100 megabytes of aeronautica primarily relating
to USA, linked below to major categories which in turn contain links to
specific subcategories such as aviation museums etc.
National Air and Space Museum
Navsource
Naval History
Images, History, Crew Contacts,
Building, Service And Final Fate Information.
The Largest US Navy Warship
Photo Collection On The Internet
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
This page is published by Fleet Air Arm Archive and
is updated regularly.
© 2000-2001 All rights reserved for all information
created for or on behalf of the Fleet Air Arm Archive
Contact email: drucker@fleetairarmarchive.net